The 2018 Judith Barlow Prize



On April 23, 2018, at the historic Cherry Lane Theatre, HISTORY MATTERS/BACK TO THE FUTURE presented a staged reading of the 2018 Judith Barlow Prize winning one-act play:

The Only Hills We've Ever Had
by Adrey Webb, Texas State University

Inspired by Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun, The Only Hills We've Ever Had tells the story of a desperate mother trying to urge her college-bound son out of their project housing before it's too late for him to fly away.


                                                              Audrey Webb                                             Lorraine Hansberry

Directed by Pironne Yousefzadeh
Staring Dante Green, Meredith Holzman, and Kayla Jackmon

The runner-up for the prize was Hannah Manikowski of Carnegie Mellon whose play Compensation was inspired by Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz's House of Desires.

The evening was hosted by our founder Joan Vail Thorne and Parity Production's Ludovica Villar-Hauser.


« Back to Events